• Welcome to the ShrimperZone forums.
    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which only gives you limited access.

    Existing Users:.
    Please log-in using your existing username and password. If you have any problems, please see below.

    New Users:
    Join our free community now and gain access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and free. Click here to join.

    Fans from other clubs
    We welcome and appreciate supporters from other clubs who wish to engage in sensible discussion. Please feel free to join as above but understand that this is a moderated site and those who cannot play nicely will be quickly removed.

    Assistance Required
    For help with the registration process or accessing your account, please send a note using the Contact us link in the footer, please include your account name. We can then provide you with a new password and verification to get you on the site.

Mr Kettle caused a little steam to be let off yesterday....

OldBlueLady

Junior Blues Coordinator⭐
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
48,317
Location
Benfleet
Really surprised this hasn't popped up on here as yet - at least, not as far as I've seen.

AFC Wimbledon v Accrington Stanley, our friend, Trevor Kettle the ref. So, resident refs and members of SZ, what do we make of this? Was he right or was he wrong? Certainly I think the majority of refs would have allowed the shot to have been taken before blowing. Many wouldn't have even thought of blowing until the move itself had finished.

[video=youtube;nST0zVZ6BpY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nST0zVZ6BpY[/video]
 

RobM

55 years as a supporter!⭐
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
8,848
Location
Essex of course!
The only occasion time can be added is for the completion of a penalty kick. Referee totally correct.
 

manor15

Super Moderator⭐
Staff member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
8,363
The only occasion time can be added is for the completion of a penalty kick. Referee totally correct.
Even if the player is taking a shot from 6 yards out? Surely common sense should prevail in scenarios like this, even if it isn't stated in the rule book?
 

OldBlueLady

Junior Blues Coordinator⭐
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
48,317
Location
Benfleet
Even if the player is taking a shot from 6 yards out? Surely common sense should prevail in scenarios like this, even if it isn't stated in the rule book?

Exactly what I thought Sam, yes, we know there's the letter of the law (or rule, can never remember which!) and there's the spirit of it?
 

RobM

55 years as a supporter!⭐
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
8,848
Location
Essex of course!
Even if the player is taking a shot from 6 yards out? Surely common sense should prevail in scenarios like this, even if it isn't stated in the rule book?
...would your view be the same had we conceded in that manner?
You cannot add time, full stop. Not even for what might happen.
 

Ayrshire Blue

The Custard Splat
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
17,304
...would your view be the same had we conceded in that manner?
You cannot add time, full stop. Not even for what might happen.


Yes you can. When the board goes up its allocated for a minimum of x amount of minutes
 

manor15

Super Moderator⭐
Staff member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
8,363
...would your view be the same had we conceded in that manner?
You cannot add time, full stop. Not even for what might happen.
Yes. If it was 2/3 minutes over the time added on and there was an opportunity to below earlier then yes, here he chooses to blow as the player takes a shot from 6 yards out. I highly doubt Wimbledon would complain about 2 seconds too long of added time in the first half. There's a difference between adding time and allowing play to continue to the next sensible point to stop.
 

AndyT

Lord of the Reedy River
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11,975
Location
Hockley
Yep, spot on.

Added time isn't an exact science, it's approximate, so the 1 minute is a guideline, it doesn't mean there's exactly 60 seconds to play.

The referee got this badly wrong, IMHO.
 

RobM

55 years as a supporter!⭐
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
8,848
Location
Essex of course!
"The referee is the official timekeeper for the match, and may make an allowance for time lost through substitutions, injured players requiring attention, or other stoppages. This added time is called additional time in FIFA documents, but is most commonly referred to as stoppage time or injury time, while loss time can also be used as a synonym. The duration of stoppage time is at the sole discretion of the referee. The referee alone signals the end of the match. In matches where a fourth official is appointed, toward the end of the half the referee signals how many minutes of stoppage time he intends to add. The fourth official then informs the players and spectators by holding up a board showing this number. The signalled stoppage time may be further extended by the referee."
 

Supa Shrimpa

Director⭐
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
3,014
Are you telling me that Mr Kettle knew exactly how much added time there was and that he stopped his watch for every single second time the match was delayed, thereby having the exact time to the second ? IMO it comes under Law 18 !
 

RobM

55 years as a supporter!⭐
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
8,848
Location
Essex of course!
As previous - the referee is the sole arbiter. Where the ball is, where it's going, what might happen is totally irrelevant.
 

Supa Shrimpa

Director⭐
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
3,014
As previous - the referee is the sole arbiter. Where the ball is, where it's going, what might happen is totally irrelevant.

The ref peeps his whistle 3 times at the end of a game. So it the ball is struck towards goal, and the ref starts peeping his whistle, is it full time on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd peep ?
 

RobM

55 years as a supporter!⭐
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
8,848
Location
Essex of course!
The beginning of the first "peep". That moment is definite, the end could, in theory, last any amount of time. The three "peeps" is a standard whistle but it's not mandatory, just accepted as the norm.
Think of fire alarm. The alarm starts at the very first moment of sound, not the end.
 

RobM

55 years as a supporter!⭐
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
8,848
Location
Essex of course!
Yes you can. When the board goes up its allocated for a minimum of x amount of minutes

That time is not added, despite what it's called. It replaces time that has been lost. Therefore a half lasts 45 minutes of play except to complete a penalty kick. This came about in 1891 or so when a penalty was awarded in a match and a defender deliberately kicked the ball out of the ground. By the time it had been retrieved, the match finished.
 

Supa Shrimpa

Director⭐
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
3,014
The beginning of the first "peep". That moment is definite, the end could, in theory, last any amount of time. The three "peeps" is a standard whistle but it's not mandatory, just accepted as the norm.
Think of fire alarm. The alarm starts at the very first moment of sound, not the end.

Is that in the Laws of the Game or your personal view ?

How about if you blow the whistle whilst the ball is crossing the line ? Goal or not ?
 

OldBlueLady

Junior Blues Coordinator⭐
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
48,317
Location
Benfleet
Surely it's just common sense though, and he failed spectacularly to show any here.
 

Supa Shrimpa

Director⭐
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
3,014
Sorry, I was just being sarcastic to those that think you should blow exactly when the watch says so....:unsure:
 

AndyT

Lord of the Reedy River
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11,975
Location
Hockley
Football should just be 30 minutes per half with the clock stopped every time there is a stoppage of some sort or the ball goes out of play.

The whistle goes at the next stoppage after 30 minutes is up.
 
Top