• Welcome to the ShrimperZone forums.
    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which only gives you limited access.

    Existing Users:.
    Please log-in using your existing username and password. If you have any problems, please see below.

    New Users:
    Join our free community now and gain access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and free. Click here to join.

    Fans from other clubs
    We welcome and appreciate supporters from other clubs who wish to engage in sensible discussion. Please feel free to join as above but understand that this is a moderated site and those who cannot play nicely will be quickly removed.

    Assistance Required
    For help with the registration process or accessing your account, please send a note using the Contact us link in the footer, please include your account name. We can then provide you with a new password and verification to get you on the site.

Yorkshire Blue

Super Moderator
Staff member
Oct 27, 2003
It's time for the fourth round of nominations.

Rules and guidelines are here. Basically each poster gets one nomination per round, so use your nomination wisely, and individuals need five nominations to go forward to a ballot.

So far Chris Powell, Sid Broomfield, Stan Collymore, Ron Pountney, Oliver Trigg, Frank Gill, Billy Best, David Webb have all made it through, with Alan Moody all but joining them. Both David Crown and Ricky Otto received the 30 votes required, but fell short of the 90% majority needed. Will either be renominated again?

Also likely to feature are record goal-scorer Roy Hollis and er, record goal-scorer Arthur Rowley (although nominated for his managerial exploits as his goalscoring was elsewhere) who both received three nominations last time. Hollis has scored the most goals for the club, whilst Rowley was the first manager to guide us to promotion.

Might this be the round that the legendary Jimmy McAlinden finally gets a nomination? McAlinden was the star man during the late 40s and early 50s, when he guided the team to their highest finish in division 3 South.

With Alan Moody, the individual who has made the most appearances, just elected, might 2nd (Sandy Anderson), 3rd (Tony Bentley) and 5th (Paul Clark) join him and 4th place Ron Pountney? Anderson was a stalwart of the 50s, Bentley of the 60s and Clark of the 80s. Paul Clark didn't just make over 350 appearances, he also twice managed the club.

In addition to Clark as a manager, there's Rowley as previously mentioned; Harry Warren, Southend's longest serving manager, who also helped the club survive the war; Ted Birnie who guided the club from 1922 to 1934; and Dave Smith, who won the club's first title.

Then there are the keepers: Simon Royce who starred at the highest level the club ever reached (and then went onto break the premiership clean sheet record); Paul Sansome, Mr Dependable in the consecutive promotions under HoFer Dave Webb; or Mervyn Cawston who set goalkeeping records that may never be broken at Roots Hall in helping the team to the 1980/81 title; or how about Harry Threadgold, a fixture in goal (unless there were floodlights!).

Ladies and gentlemen, your nominations please