• Welcome to the ShrimperZone forums.
    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which only gives you limited access.

    Existing Users:.
    Please log-in using your existing username and password. If you have any problems, please see below.

    New Users:
    Join our free community now and gain access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and free. Click here to join.

    Fans from other clubs
    We welcome and appreciate supporters from other clubs who wish to engage in sensible discussion. Please feel free to join as above but understand that this is a moderated site and those who cannot play nicely will be quickly removed.

    Assistance Required
    For help with the registration process or accessing your account, please send a note using the Contact us link in the footer, please include your account name. We can then provide you with a new password and verification to get you on the site.

Yorkshire Blue

Super Moderator
Staff member
Oct 27, 2003
Ladies and gentlemen, it's time to open SZ's SUFC Hall of Fame to nominations once more, where we seek to celebrate our history and recognise Southend United's very finest.

Rules are one nomination per poster, per round of nominations, so you'll need to think carefully over who you want to propose.

So far the following form this most exclusive of clubs:

Chris Powell with 100% of the vote and a poll of 66 votes in favour
Sid Bloomfield with a 97.73% of the vote, polling 43 to 1
Stanley Collymore with 94.44% of the vote, 102 to 6
Ron Pountney, at the 2nd attempt, with 91.07% and 51 to 5 (only 22 votes in favour on 1st poll)
Oliver Trigg with 100% of the vote, polling 47 votes
Frank Gill with 94.29% and 33 to 2
Billy Best with 97.78% and 44 to 1
David Webb with 98.44% and 63 to 1
Alan Moody with 98.31% and 58 to 1
Spencer Prior with 91.53% and 54 to 5
Freddy Eastwood with 95.63% and 153 to 7
Paul Clark at the 2nd attempt with 91.10% and 82 to 8 (89.69%, 87 to 10 at first attempt)

That is the standard that has been set: greatness is required and just very good won't cut it. It's a purposefully high bar, where the quality of those who make it is merely highlighted by the calibre of those falling just short.

Those nominated that haven't made it (yet?) are:
David Crown, 51.61%, 32 to 30
Ricky Otto, 51.61%, 48 to 45
Paul Sansome, 78%, 39 to 11
Dave Smith, 89.74%, 35 to 4
Ian Benjamin 77.78%, 49:14
Mark Gower 64.12%, 84:47

The individual (it doesn't have to be a player, we can nominate chairmen, managers, groundstaff, anyone who has been a key figure in the history of the club provided they left the club at least two years ago) who receives the most nominations (min 5) shall go forward to a ballot. Criteria to consider is here. Candidates will then have to receive 90% of the votes and at least 30 votes to be inducted into the SZ Southend United Hall Of Fame. In case of any disputes my decision shall be final.

Nominate away!